Interior Design

Design 101

Color De-Coded

The eight elements of design are:

  1. Line
  2. Form
  3. Color
  4. Value
  5. Texture
  6. Pattern
  7. Light
  8. Space

In this weeks Design 101 blog we are going to focus on Color and Value. There are three primary colors – red, yellow and blue.  Combinations of the three primary colors create the basic colors:  red, yellow, blue, orange, green and violet. The mixing of these six colors, along with darkening or lightening creates the subtleties that produce interesting design results.   The darkening and lightening of a given color is what is known as value.  When decorating your home, you need to work with the color and value of all the elements in a room including walls, floors, ceiling, furniture, window treatments and accessories.  One of the best inspirations for developing a color scheme can be found in nature.  Take a look at some of these influences and share your color inspirations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s